Celebrating excellence in construction for over 40 years




More than four decades ago our Construction Manager of the Year Awards began its journey to find the very best examples of excellence and professionalism in the industry.

This year the world is different. The journey our finalists have been on is astounding. Although tonight we cannot meet in person, their achievement deserves recognition and our attention. These virtual awards do not diminish our celebration of their skills and talents, but rather give us extra focus, especially at a time when the industry needs positive stories to shout about.

Back in 1978, the Sears Tower in Chicago was the tallest building in the world standing at 442 metres. Now the Burj Khalifa in Dubai stands tallest at 828 metres, almost twice the height. The industry continues to build higher, further, faster and with more complexity than ever before, but the values for what makes a truly expert construction manager are still the same. That sense of pride, the ability to adapt, to meet client and user needs, to lead and to challenge. We can add to those ingredients, resilience, that tenacity to deliver excellence no matter the conditions.

There are plenty of lessons to learn from these finalists and each one of their stories qualifies as CPD for the rest of us. By reaching the CMYA final, those who are not yet Chartered Construction Managers, or Chartered Builders, are now eligible to apply for it without undergoing our professional review. That says something very positive about the stringent standard of our judging and the quality of the people we celebrate this evening. Looking back at those who have previously won the title, history tells us it is a launch pad to even bigger and better personal and company prospects. Tonight, will be a significant springboard for all our finalists in their individual careers and we look forward to seeing what the next chapters will bring.

In tandem with our prestigious Construction Manager of the Year Awards we also celebrate the very best construction professionals at the beginning of their careers through our first ever Rising Star Award. A focus for my year as President is to open up the CIOB for the next generation, and to create platforms from which the emerging talent of our industry can shine. I am delighted that we can acknowledge the hard work and dedication of young professionals at these awards.

Congratulations to all of you and best of luck.

Mark Beard FCIOB
CIOB President 2020/21

Awards Presentation

CMYA Categories

Presented by: Caroline Gumble, CIOB Chief Executive

Residential Under 10 Storeys; Residential Over 10 Storeys; Primary Education; Schools; Higher Education; Leisure; Office; Public & Infrastructure; Healthcare

Rising Star Award

Presented by: Jean Duprez MBE FCIOB, Duprez Consulting Limited

President’s Award

Presented by: Professor Charles Egbu FCIOB, CIOB Past President 2019/20


Presented by: Mark Beard FCIOB, CIOB President 2020/21

Award host



George Clarke is a renowned architect, TV presenter and campaigner for charities and housing organisations.

During his extensive career he has become a household name and a familiar face on our TV screens. Thanks to programmes like Build a New Life, The Home Show, The Restoration Man and Amazing Spaces, George has become the ‘face of architecture’.

He is a keen lecturer and is passionate about the way architecture can transform our everyday lives, with his main aim being that it becomes accessible and popular with everyone.

George works tirelessly with charities, being an ambassador for Shelter, Maggie’s Centres and The Prince’s Foundation for Building Community. He is a trustee for the Foundation of Light and patron for the Civic Trust Awards and Knights Youth Centre. He is also the founder of the groundbreaking educational charity MOBIE (Ministry of Building Innovation + Education).

In the Spotlight

Our Finalists

Residential Under 10 Storeys
Residential Over 10 Storeys
Primary Education


Higher  Education 




Public & Infrastructure



Professor Charles Egbu FCIOB
CIOB Past President 2019/20



Change does not come easy. It takes a certain kind of person to lead from the front, to set the tempo from which their organisation, their people, and even an entire industry can follow.

Construction is transforming, and it needs to. We don’t have nearly enough diversity in our workforce, we have only started to recognise the silent crisis of poor mental health and wellbeing. And these issues are holding us back from fulfilling our potential.

Which brings us back to why changing the way we do things is so important. But for change to take affect we need people who are bold enough to show us what is possible and how to take a different road. It is for these reasons that I am delighted to announce a new award for this year, the CIOB President’s Award. This award enables us to recognise an individual who has made a significant impact on the industry, setting new standards in health and safety as well as placing focus on occupational health and work-related illness, like mental health.

I will be announcing the winner of this prestigious award during the show on the 25th November.

Construction Manager of the Year 2020


The Fellows and Members of the CIOB who comprise the Judging Panel are all experts in their own right, and current in the industry.
Between them, the sixteen judges have reviewed all of the original entries and carried out rigorous interviews with each finalist, their professional assessments and knowledge are at the very heart of the Construction Manager of the Year Awards. Their contribution to the 2020 Awards is gratefully acknowledged by the Trustees of the CIOB.


Paul Nash FCIOB, CIOB Past President 2016/7


Ayo Allu FCIOB
Stephen Bradbury MCIOB
John Brennan FCIOB
Mark Chamberlain FCIOB
Emma Curtis MCIOB
Gareth Davies FCIOB

Ian Fletcher FCIOB
Derek Fryer FCIOB
Gavin Heaphy MCIOB
Ian Lumsden FCIOB
Mike May FCIOB
Mike Morris MCIOB

Peter J Roberts FCIOB
John Sayers FCIOB
Peter Searle FCIOB
Ben Stevenson FCIOB


Adam Hollis MCIOB


Chris Richards FCIOB


Gordon Harker MCIOB


Jean Duprez MBE FCIOB

Adam Mitchell MCIOB

Kate Macbeth CIOB

The best in construction

Proudly Sponsored By

Construction Manager of the Year Awards

Event Supporters