Step Into the Spotlight



Important changes to CMYA 2020

Construction Manager of the year

Over forty years of excellence proves construction is not short on talent

More than four decades ago our Construction Manager of the Year Awards began its journey to find the very best examples of excellence and professionalism in the industry.

Back in 1978, the Sears Tower in Chicago was the tallest building in the world standing at 442 metres. Now the Burj Khalifa in Dubai stands tallest at 828 metres, almost twice the height. The industry is building higher, further, faster and with more complexity than ever before, but the values for what makes a truly expert construction manager are still the same. That sense of pride, the ability to adapt, to meet client and user needs, to lead and to challenge.


The best in construction management

More than a building

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards (CMYA) celebrate the achievements of those who inspire, lead and enable the very best delivery of a project and produce buildings that have a positive impact on those who use them.



We hold our CMYA awards in the largest event space of the JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel; the magnificent Great Room.



 Since 1978 the awards have been showcasing incredible talent and highlighting the abilities of Construction Managers across the UK every day.



A Silver Medallist and Gold Medallist is chosen from each category, but only one of these Gold Medallists can go on to be the Construction Manager of the Year. 



Get ready for an evening packed full of inspiring speeches, exquisite dining and exceptional entertainment. With a celebrity host and guest performance, this is an evening not to be missed!



Prior to the presentation of the awards, all guests can sit down and enjoy a delicious three course meal. 


Construction manager of the year

At the end of the evening the Construction Manager of the Year is announced.

Our supporters

2020 Sponsors

Don’t Miss

Our News And Blogs

Read all about the latest from the Construction Manager of the Year Awards.

CIOB Announces Rising Star Award Category for 2020

CIOB Announces Rising Star Award Category for 2020

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) is delighted to announce a brand new “Rising Star” category for this year’s Construction Manager of the Year Awards. This brand new category is for rising stars who have been in the construction industry for 7 years or less,...

Important Changes to CMYA 2020

Important Changes to CMYA 2020

ENTRY DEADLINE Given the environment at present, we are extending the deadline for CMYA entries. We are aware that many people are working from home and have limited access to some of the information required for the entry. Please do not let this halt your entry –...

How to Enter

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards are open to both members and non-members of the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB). 

Why Enter?

People enter CMYA for all kinds of reasons but being a finalist is about more than just recognition.

Drop Us a Line

Don't be shy. Let us know if you have any questions!


Applications for CMYA 2020 are now closed

Rising Star Award

Find out more and apply by Friday 29 May 2020