CIOB Announces Rising Star Award Category for 2020

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) is delighted to announce a brand new “Rising Star” category for this year’s Construction Manager of the Year Awards.
This brand new category is for rising stars who have been in the construction industry for 7 years or less, and demonstrated excellence in their work, the industry and amongst their peers. Specifically, the CIOB encourages those that have made a real difference to the business or projects they have been involved with. The CMYA has a reputation for showcasing the very finest talent in construction and is unique in the sector as these awards celebrate and recognise the achievements of the person and not the project.

CIOB Chief Executive Caroline Gumble said:
“CMYA has been a unique barometer for management and leadership talent in our sector for more than 40 years, and I am delighted that this new category will showcase the best of the emerging talent in our industry, while giving the opportunity for firms to recognise the achievements of those at every level.”

You can submit an entry yourself, or your employer can submit an entry. The judges will be looking for evidence of contribution within the timeframe of the last 12 months, and 500 words on why you wish to be nominated. More information on the entry requirements is available here. This award is free to enter.

Applications close on 29 May 2020 at 5pm, with finalists being announced in July. The first ever CIOB Rising Star presentation will occur alongside the CMYA celebration in London on 30 September 2020.

Other Stories

The CIOB introduces two new awards

The CIOB introduces two new awards

For 2021, as well as CIOB Rising Star, The Chartered Institute of Building has introduced two new categories: ‘Client of the Year’ and ‘Team of the Year’. These new categories will make their debut alongside the Construction Manager of the Year Awards at London’s JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel on 29 September 2021.