Why Enter?

Entering CMYA gives you the chance for your skills and abilities to be recognised and can lead to exciting new opportunities. 

How to enterAbout CMYA

The Best in the Business

Winning an award at CMYA can provide you with a wealth of new opportunities and be a springboard in your career unlike any other. In fact, many of our previous CMYA medal winners have said that the awards have had hugely positive effects on their career, with some of our medal winners going on to build iconic buildings like Canary Wharf and The Shard.

Following CMYA 2018, gold medal winner Matt Crookes wrote a blog re-counting his experience and describing his achievement as “life changing”.

The whole picture

It’s about more than a building

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards celebrate the achievements of those who inspire, lead and enable the very best delivery of a project and produce buildings that have a positive impact on those who use them.

Our judges look beyond the building, at the project as a whole. It’s not about being the biggest or most impressive but about the individuals who make these projects possible, and the impacts they deliver.


Why take part?


Meet leaders and other upcoming talent from throughout the built environment

Become Chartered

Once you become a finalist you will be eligible for Chartered Membership of the CIOB


Get recognised for your contributions to the Built Environment. Over 90% of CMYA finalists report a positive impact on their career.

It's Free

CMYA costs you nothing to enter, just the time taken to complete your application

Construction Manager of the Year 2020

Frank Connolly MCIOB, Mace

On this 12-storey block, Frank Connolly’s leadership, passion and commitment delivered quality. He aced the city centre logistics of a land-locked site accessible only from a single-file lane by suspending part of the ground-floor slab over the basement to support a gantry for plant and delivery movements.

Finalist stories

Previous winners

Joseph McNeil MCIOB

120 Oxford Street

In his first position as project manager, Joseph McNeil brought about the substantial team collaboration required by a scheme that expanded by £3m during the contract period. He delivered the oversight and bigger picture thinking to change the demolition methodology in a building with sensitive neighbours from non-percussive diamond saw cutting to hydraulic crunching, bringing substantial programme and cost benefits. He was also notably successful in managing an incoming tenant’s requirements that conflicted with the specification for the screeding.



Neil Lock MCIOB

V&A Museum

Neil Lock’s project to construct a colossal columnless basement gallery in a quality-worshipping museum proved as intense and testing as it was thrilling and inspiring. He overcame the huge technical challenge of excavating a 16 metre deep gallery just two metres away from priceless artefacts in grade I-listed buildings. Neil built a very strong managerial team as well as an excellent relationship with the client and the professionals through insight, hard work, common sense and exceptional communications.


Margaret Conway MCIOB

9 Adelaide, Belfast

Eighteen months to demolish a 10-storey block and construct a 100,000 sqft turnkey office on a city centre site with no-storage restrictions and painfully difficult access (major demolition work, for example, could take place on Sunday only) is quite a challenge. Add to that late design changes, a three-month holdup in getting the contract signed, and a budget that was even tighter than the site, and you get some idea of the scale of Margaret Conway’s achievement in delivering two months early to an excellent standard throughout.

How to Enter

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards are open to both members and non-members of the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB). 

Why Enter?

People enter CMYA for all kinds of reasons but being a finalist is about more than just recognition.

Drop Us a Line

Don't be shy. Let us know if you have any questions!


Applications in the Rising Star category, Team of the Year and Client of the Year are open for entries.