CMYA 2019: See Who the Finalists Are

The finalists of the Construction Manager of the Year Awards 2019 have been revealed. A total of 80 of the very best construction managers in the UK have been named in the shortlists for 11 categories.

The announcement of the finalists for each category follows a rigorous assessment process. Over the last few months, our CMYA judges have been assessing paper applications, as well as conducting site visits and panel interviews.

One winner from each category will be selected in addition to the overall Construction Manager of the Year. All will be revealed on 18th September at the Awards Ceremony, held at the exquisite Grosvenor House Hotel in London. With inspiring speeches and exceptional entertainment, it will be an unmissable evening, celebrating the talent and hard work of all the finalists.

Congratulations to all finalists for making it this far, and best of luck at the awards night!

Book your table and join us for an unforgettable evening.

The finalists of CMYA 2019 are:

Residential under 7 storeys

· Carl Brierley – John Sisk & Son
· James Howlett ICIOB – Telford Homes
· Ryan McShane – McAleer and Rushe
· Daren Milne – McCarthy & Stone Retirement Lifestyles Ltd
· Rori Williams – WRW Construction

Residential over 7 storeys

· Anthony Blackledge MCIOB – Mace Ltd
· Richard Ingram – Watkins-Jones
· Paul McGibbon – Telford Homes PLC
· Gerald Ward – Bennett
· Mark Wolverson MCIOB – Willmott Dixon

Primary education

· Peter Adams MCIOB – Jerram Falkus Construction Ltd
· David Boyle ICIOB – Morgan Sindall
· Warren Hough MCIOB – ISG
· Steve Laughton MCIOB – ISG
· Matthew Lewis – Kier Construction
· Andy Lock MCIOB – BAM Construction
· Adam Walker – ISG


· Rhodri Bowen – Willmott Dixon
· Jerome Curran – Farrans Construction
· Kevin Knight MCIOB – Kier Construction London
· Atholl Mckay ICIOB – Balfour Beatty
· Mike O’Dell – Mid Group
· Andy Pritchard – Willmott Dixon
· Dwayne Rice – Farrans Construction

Higher education

· Simon Allen ICIOB – Mace Ltd
· Rob Cooper – Laing O’Rourke
· Tony Fitzgerald MCIOB – Morgan Sindall
· Nick McQuaid – Bowmer and Kirkland
· Howard Monsen MCIOB – Kier Construction
· Nick White – Wates Construction


· Oliver Caunt MCIOB – Willmott Dixon
· Michael Deeming MCIOB – Galliford Try
· Mark McCormick MCIOB- McAleer and Rushe
· Paul Murray – McAleer and Rushe
· Stephen Neeson – McAleer and Rushe
· Nick Preedy ICIOB – Willmott Dixon
· Mark Tregelles – Beard


· Jon Allworth – Willmott Dixon
· Michael Beeching – Brymor Construction
· Simon Copping – Greendale Construction Ltd
· Anthony Dowling – Willmott Dixon
· Jason Hartnell – Kier Construction
· Wil Huisman MCIOB – PML
· Patrick Johnson MCIOB – Morgan Sindall
· Adrian O’ Shaughnessy – Francis Construction
· Graham Tuthill MCIOB – Baxall Construction Ltd

Refurbishment and fit-out

· Rob Brown – Willmott Dixon Interiors
· Joe Hacke – Rise Management Consulting Ltd
· Graham Leigh – Willmott Dixon
· Ronan McGrath MCIOB – mac-group
· Joseph McNeil – Sir Robert McAlpine
· Alex Mastroddi – ISG
· Philip O’Brien MCIOB- Willmott Dixon Interiors
· David Packham MCIOB – BAM Construct UK


· Daniel Anderson – Structuretone
· Andy Clark FCIOB – Brymor Construction Ltd
· Nicholas Donovan MCIOB – Kier Construction
· Andrew James MCIOB – McLaren Construction
· Graham Mercer – Skanska
· Nick Moore – Mace Ltd
· Gareth Williams ACIOB – Willmott Dixon

Public and infrastructure

· Brian Amos – ISG Construction
· Jason Bowen – Kier Construction
· Simon Burkitt ICIOB – Galliford Try
· Kenny Hale – Beard
· Astrit Hoxha – Telford Homes
· Jason Hunt MCIOB – Galliford Try
· Nigel Johnston – Fabrite Engineering Ltd
· Martin Middleton MCIOB ` – Willmott Dixon
· Dermot Parkinson – BAM Construct UK
· Tony Richards ACIOB – BAM Construct UK
· Colin Tilley – Willmott Dixon
· Louis Whittington – Morgan Sindall


· Nadeem Chaudhry – Kier Construction
· Jonathan Cottrell MCIOB – Skanska
· Damon Cutler – Wates Construction
· Matt Davis – Kier Construction
· Jamie Jackson – VINCI Construction UK
· Matthew Littlewood – Willmott Dixon
· Daniel Marsh MCIOB – BAM Construct UK

Other Stories

The CIOB introduces two new awards

The CIOB introduces two new awards

For 2021, as well as CIOB Rising Star, The Chartered Institute of Building has introduced two new categories: ‘Client of the Year’ and ‘Team of the Year’. These new categories will make their debut alongside the Construction Manager of the Year Awards at London’s JW Marriott Grosvenor House Hotel on 29 September 2021.

Nominate Construction’s Rising Stars

Nominate Construction’s Rising Stars

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) has opened applications for a second year for its international CIOB Rising Star award. The category is for those who have been in the construction industry for seven years or less and demonstrated excellence in their work, the industry and amongst their peers.

CIOB begins search for next top construction manager of 2021

CIOB begins search for next top construction manager of 2021

The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB) begins its search for the UK’s finest construction manager of 2021. For more than 40 years the CIOB has shone a light on the amazing skills and talent within the discipline of construction management.