About CMYA

Learn about the history of the awards

Celebrating Excellence in Construction for Over 40 Years

The Construction Manager of the Year Awards (CMYA) celebrate the achievements of those who inspire, lead and enable the very best delivery of a project and produce buildings that have a positive impact on those who use them.

These unique awards were initiated in 1978 by the Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB). During this time, CMYA has been showcasing incredible talent and highlighting the abilities of Construction Managers across the UK every year. An in-depth judging process ensures that the calibre of winners is consistently high, and as a result, the awards have a reputation for identifying the future leaders in the construction industry.

Online entries are accepted between January and March. Following this, paper applications are assessed, sites are visited and panel interviews are conducted in order to select the individuals who stand out from the crowd. The names of our finalists are announced in July.

Book a Table

Don't miss the opportunity to be part of this extraordinary event

Why should you enter CMYA?
Entering CMYA provides you with the opportunity for your skills and abilities to be recognised. These prestigious awards will be a springboard in your career unlike any other; many of our previous medal winners have gone on to work on iconic landmarks like Canary Wharf and The Shard.

Winning an award at CMYA can provide you with a wealth of new opportunities. In fact, many of our previous CMYA medal winners have said that the Awards have had hugely positive effects on their career. Following CMYA 2018, gold medal winner Matt Crookes wrote a blog re-counting his experience and describing his achievement as “life changing”.


Over 40 years

The Chartered Institute of Building has been running the CMYA since 1978


of CMYA Gold and Silver medal winners said the Awards had a positive effect on their career

11 Gold medals

but only 1 Construction Manager of the Year

3/4 of employees

said CMYA helps define their company as a high-calibre organisation